Will Manning


SO I HAVE SOME NEWS
September 5, 2014, 2:04 am
Filed under: Blog | Tags: , , ,

DSC_6174

Hello there!

As you may or may not know, for the past year I’ve been presenting shows on two national radio stations. Weekends on KISS (based in London) and my weekday drive show on The Hits Radio (based out of Manchester). At 22 this is a dream come true. I honestly can’t believe the situation I’ve been in this past year, the 14 year old me would go insane at the thought. 

At the age of 16 I had my first crack at radio, it was on a national station, BBC Radio 1Xtra – it was a huge deal, I had my first experience of a studio, working for someone (actually a lot of people) and it was an amazing step into the crazy world that is the media and radio. I then went to college and then Uni. By the age of 21 I joined Bauer presenting on The Hits Radio’s Sunday night show, moving onto the Late Show and by October 2013 I was offered a live drive show Monday-Friday, at the same time, after filling in on shows for 3 months or so I was offered two weekend shows on KISS FM – fresh out of university, aged 21, the whole situation was a dream come true. 

The problem was that The Hits is based in Manchester and KISS in London but I wasn’t going to let that stop me! Since December I’ve had a life in the north in the week and a life back at home at the weekends, this resulted in a lot of travelling up and down the M6, living out of a bag and come Friday, like with any job – being totally burnt out. It wasn’t ever ideal but I loved it all, it would’ve been stupid to give up because I was tired, I knew at some point however that something would have to budge. 

Fast forward to now, I’m other side of the world (from the UK) on a much needed holiday, in June I had 4 days off, I hadn’t had more than 2 since December, I’ve stepped back for a bit and at the same time my life is changing once again.

I’m so sad to say that I’ve had my final show on The Hits Radio (I didn’t even know it was my final show at the time). The station has given me SO much: the huge guests I’ve interviewed such as Rita Ora, 5SOS, The Vamps, Will.I.Am, Enrique etc, the big and fun content I’ve been able to produce on air (whilst rarely being told to shut up – a VERY rare thing in radio these days) and most importantly, it’s given me the chance to work with an amazing team who I now regard as my family. I can’t begin to tell you how much that team mean to me, they are THE hardest working guys in UK radio, that’s a fact. The Hits is only run by 5 people (minus all the hard working presenters) yet it reaches so many and sounds AMAZING. I’m so proud to say I was a part of that, I know I won’t ever work in an environment like that again. Thank you Max, Sam, Darryl, Danny and Joe – you guys are the best. 

The good news is that I’ve been offered an opportunity at KISS that was too good to say no to, as of September 29th I will be presenting the evening show, Monday-Thursday from 7pm as well as my Sunday show 10am-2pm. This is a HUGE deal for me, I’ll be back in London in brand new studios, delivering content to the millions that listen. This was an offer I couldn’t say no to, it’s another stepping stone in my already insane career at the age of 22. I get my weekends back, I get to be a normal 22 year old who goes out with his friends and I get to say goodbye to the M6 at 9am on a Monday morning!

So thank you SO MUCH if you listened to my show on The Hits Radio, those days will stay with me forever, now it’s time to start a brand new and very exciting chapter with my KISS family. 

The new show starts September 29th at 7pm.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Say Something

