Will Manning


MY 2013 MUSIC ROUND-UP
December 23, 2013, 10:30 am
Filed under: Blog, Things I'm Feeling | Tags: , , , ,

Yes, it’s really that time of the year already. My final Podcast of 2013 is out, two hours worth of the years biggest tunes mixed by me, you can download that for free here. It’s now time to look back at those tracks, albums and artists who made 2013 a great one for music.

There have been some big albums, singles and new artists introduced to our lives. This is a look back at all things music in 2013.

Albums of The Year

3. John Newman – Tribute

rsz_john-newman-tribute-2013-1200x1200

John Newman burst onto the music scene with his feature on Rudimentals Feel The Love late last year, fast forward to 2013 and we got to hear his first solo offering Love Me Again, an instant smash and a future classic, as was the follow up Cheating. His new single Losing Sleep is one of the biggest records I’ve heard in a long while. All of those singles feature on Johns debut solo album, Tribute, an album I haven’t stopped listening to since I got my hands on it. John manages to mix soul with pop and has a high energy performance which is fun and refreshing to watch, his work with Rudimental has clearly rubbed off, he’s a true musician.

2. London Grammar – If You Wait

london-grammar-if-you-wait-album-art

At the beginning of the year I received an e-mail, the subject was ‘London Grammar,’ the context was ‘Hey Now: Click to listen’ – that was it! I clicked, I listened, I feel in love. What a trio, what amazing talents, what a bloody sublime album. If You Wait is one of the best pieces of work I’ve ever had the pleasure of hearing. Unique, refreshing, beautiful, dreamy and mind blowing are just some of the adjectives I would use to describe the album. I had the pleasure of speaking to Dan, Dot and the lovely Hannah this year (listen here), they are the nicest people I’ve ever interviewed which made my love for their talent even stronger. Metal & Dust, Hey Now, Maybe, Strong and Help Me Lose My Mind are all stand out tracks but to be fair, the whole album is a masterpiece.

1. Bastille – Bad Blood

Bastille-1

Around May this year I received an e-mail, could I go up to Birmingham to interview a band called Bastille (watch that here), sure, but I knew nothing about them, I’d only heard one song, the single which was out at the time called Pompeii, a wicked track which I loved, I had to get the album to get an bigger and better idea about what these guys were all about, well that day changed this year in music for me. Bad Blood is quite possibly my favourite album of the last 3 years or so, tune after tune after tune, elements of instrumentation which took me to heaven and back down to earth again – does that even make any sense to you? It does to me. It’s a sensational piece of work, tracks such as Overjoyed and Oblivion send tingles down my spine, their second single Laura Palmer is a solid listen as is their debut Pompeii. The guys who were famous for making cover mix tapes have done damn well, topping off the year with a number 2 smash, their cover of Coronas/ Snaps! Rhythm Of The Night. Thanks Bastille, I bloody love you guys.

Best Songs

As always, there were far too many massive records in just one year, below I’ve listed a fair few of my faves from the last 12 months:

Storm Queen – Look Right Through
Wale Ft. Sam Drew – Love Hate Thing
J. Cole Ft. Miguel – Power Trip
Drake – Hold On, We’re Going Home/ Too Much/ From Time
Jhene Aiko Ft. Childish Gambino – Bed Peace
Justin Timberlake – Mirrors
Pharrell – Happy
Wilkinson Ft. Becky Hill – Afterglow
Lorde – Royals
London Grammar – Strong/ Hey Now
Matrix & Futurebound Ft. Baby Blue – Magnetic Eyes
Mariah Carey Ft. Miguel – #Beautiful
Daft Punk Ft. Pharrell & Nile Rodgers – Get Lucky
Jessie Ware – Imagine It Was Us
Disclosure Ft. AlunaGeorge – White Noise
Chris Malinchak – So Good To Me
Duke Dumont Ft. A*M*E – Need You (100%)
Macklemore & Ryan Lewis – Can’t Hold Us
Bastille – Pompeii/ Of The Night/ Overjoyed/ Basically the whole album
John Newman – Love Me Again/ Cheating/ Losing Sleep
Wretch 32 Ft. Shakka – Blackout
Iggy Azalea Ft. T.I – Change Your Life
Tori Kelly – Dear No One
Route 94 Ft. Jess Glynne – My Love
Wookie Ft. Eliza Doolittle – The Hype
Joe Hertz – At Your Touch
Rudimental Ft. Becky Hill – Powerless
Wilkinson Ft. Becky Hill – Afterglow
AlungGeorge – Attracting Flies
Benzel x Jessie Ware – If You Love Me
Rita Ora – Radioactive
Jakwob Ft. Maiday – Fade
Russ Chimes – Turn Me Out

Artist of The Year

Macklemore

macklemore

This was a really really difficult one. So many artists have had amazing songs out, sensational albums and sold out shows around the world. Not many though have had quite the impact that this man has had, Macklemore. From brining out the huge Thrift Shop to the club banger Can’t Hold Us, Macklemore provided and the world soaked it up. The single Same Love also created well deserved attention for bringing to light some issues which most artists skip over – homosexuality in Hip Hop and music in general.

This man makes some bloody good and fun pop music but proves he isn’t just about big fury coats, he has a message and he isn’t afraid to share it.

Artists to Look Out For In 2014

Elli Ingram

elli_ingram-600x310

After uploading a few big covers online, including that of Kendrick Lamar’s Poetic Justice, Elli Ingram was quickly snapped up by Island Records and released her debut EP entitled Sober.

2014 will prove a big year as Island push Elli and we get to hear the official debut single.

Sam Smith

samsmith970600

Having featured on Disclosures Latch at the latter part of 2012 and on Naughty Boys La La La at the beginning of the year, Sam Smith quickly became a name on tastemakers lips. His haunting vocal captivated me and other DJs/ blogger around the world. Over the year Sam uploaded various tracks such as Lay You Down and Nirvana, a record which quite literally sends me to heaven and beyond, if you haven’t heard it yet, get your ears around it here. His debut solo single Money On My Mind, is set to be released on February 16 with the debut album In the Lonely Hour, on May 26th.

Ella Eyre

EllaEyre2013

The voice behind Rudimentals Waiting All Night, Ella Eyre is set to be a big name next year. Her solo single Deeper is ready to go and has had a fair bit of love so far on radio. I sat down and spoke with the lovely lady herself a few weeks back, her head is screwed on, she has ambition and I have no doubt that the potential to make it big is there. Good music usually wins after all.

MNEK

MNEK-The-Mixtape-Vernacular

There’s a lot to say about this young UK talent, MNEK. He’s the man behind the MMMMMMMs on Duke Dumonts Need U, he’s also the man behind some sick remixes/ refixes online this year, he’s got a feature on Rudimentals album under his belt, a feature on the new Gorgon City single Ready For Your Love and he’s written for Little Mix, all in one year, no big deal or anything. Look out for this 19 year old talent, his debut solo single is coming soon.

2013 you’ve been a wonderful year for music. The ‘dance/ pop’ scene has grown, not a bad thing overall, in 2014 though I would love to see more soulful acts emerge into the mainstream – London Grammar and Sam Smith being at the top of my list.

Here’s to another year of huge music!


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Say Something

