Will Manning


DESPICABLE ME 2 [FILM REVIEW]
July 17, 2013, 5:02 pm
Filed under: Blog, Film, Review | Tags: , , , ,

despicable-me-2

I’ve been meaning to write this review for a good few weeks now, I saw this film at least 2 weeks back, anyway, here we are.

So Despicable Me 2, after the HUGE success of the first film released back in 2010, I had very high expectations for the follow up, I knew deep down however that it would really take a lot to beat it. I was right. There was never a real chance for this film to beat the first one. Film 1 had made such an impact on me as a viewer – I laughed so much and enjoyed the whole experience, that I had almost set myself up for not liking this one as much. So let’s actually talk about the film.

despicable-me-2-picture02

The plot is, as it should be, simple: Gru is called upon to find/ capture a bad guy with the help of a new love interest. A forumula has been stolen and it’s Gru’s job to find it! Naturally things don’t go to plan and with the help of the simply brilliant Minions, Gru fights for justice.

Minions-In-Despicable-Me-2-640x400

I have to say that this film isn’t as funny as the first one, HOWEVER I don’t think it has much to do with the content, instead I think it’s because I hadn’t seen a film like this before and so when the first one was released, I just found the whole thing hilarious, from Gru as a character to the personalities of the little yellow Minions. This film however does deliver on the story, visual animation and originality. Hey, it made $471,576,775 in the box office, it did something right.

A very strong 7/10 for Despicable Me 2.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Say Something

